Skip to page content
Office of Workers' Compensation Programs
Bookmark and Share

Division of Energy Employees Occupational Illness Compensation (DEEOIC)

Advisory Board on Toxic Substances and Worker Health


January 30, 2018, 1:00pm – 5:00pm Eastern,

Full-Board Telephonic Meeting.

The Secretary of Labor has recently established the Advisory Board on Toxic Substances and Worker Health for Part E of the Energy Employees Occupational Illness Compensation Program Act (EEOICPA) program. The Department of Labor's Office of Workers' Compensation Programs (OWCP) and EEOICPA program provide compensation and medical benefits to nuclear weapons workers who were diagnosed with medical conditions related to exposure to toxic substances at covered nuclear facilities. The Advisory Board is mandated by the National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA) of 2015, which amended the EEOICPA to include Section 3687, creating the Advisory Board. By Executive Order 13699 of June 26, 2015, the President delegated responsibility to establish and maintain the Advisory Board to the Secretary of Labor. The Board reports to the Secretary of Labor.


The Advisory Board on Toxic Substances and Worker Health will advise the Secretary of Labor with respect to technical aspects of the EEOICPA program:

  • the site exposure matrices of the Department of Labor;
  • medical guidance for claims examiners for claims under this subtitle with respect to the weighing of the medical evidence of claimants;
  • evidentiary requirements for claims under subtitle B related to lung disease; and
  • the work of industrial hygienists and staff physicians and consulting physicians of the Department and reports of such hygienists and physicians to ensure quality, objectivity, and consistency.

Membership Charter Meetings Federal Register Notices News Releases Resources



Scientific Community:
John M. Dement, Ph.D, CIH, Department of Community and Family Medicine, Duke University Medical Center
Mark Griffon, Occupational Health and Safety consultant
Kenneth Z. Silver, D.Sc., S.M., Department of Environmental Health, ETSU College of Public Health
George Friedman-Jimenez, MD, Dr.Ph., Bellevue Hospital Center, NYU School of Medicine
Leslie I. Boden, Ph.D, Department of Environmental Health, Boston University School of Public Health

Medical Community:
CHAIR: Steven Markowitz, MD. Dr.Ph., Queens College, CUNY School of Public Health
Laura S. Welch, MD, Center for Construction Research and Training
Rosemary K. Sokas, MD, MPH, M.Sc., Georgetown University School of Nursing and Health Studies
Carrie A. Redlich, MD, MPH, Yale School of Medicine
Victoria A. Cassano, MD, MPH, Performance Medicine Consulting

Claimant community:
Duronda M. Pope, United Steelworkers
Kirk D. Domina, Hanford Atomic Metal Trades Council
Garry M. Whitley, Worker Health Protection Program, Atomic Trades and Labor Council
James H. Turner, Retired, Rocky Flats Nuclear Weapons Facility
Faye Vlieger, Claimant Advocate; Chair, DEEOIC Interim Advisory Board (DIAB)(volunteer organization)

Designated Federal Officer (DFO):
Douglas C. Fitzgerald, Director, Longshore and Harbor Workers’ Compensation, OWCP